Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Calling all steam train buffs!

Help with my WW1 Thriller research
8

Watch my short video, above, as I explain what I’m looking for.

The Train, starring Burt Lancaster, is one of my primary sources for looking at the French railways in WW1. What’s valuable for me in the Lancaster film is seeing how the points can be changed, especially because it’s set in France, like my WW1 story. I figure they wouldn’t have changed that much by the time WW2 came around. But maybe there are differences: small but interesting details that I should know about?

By comparison, I thought Portillo’s railway documentary had at least one glaring omission: how British troops were sent to The Front in cattle trucks.

I’m still heavily into the research side of my thriller, but I’m so into it I keep writing bits of scenes and dialogue, I can’t help myself!

So any steam train buffs who are knowledgeable about this period, leave a comment – I’d love to hear from you!

Pat.

8 Comments
Iconoblast
Iconoblast
Authors
Pat Mills